Meyer is first woman elected to North Dakota Soybean Council

Other directors elected are Milo Braaten, Adam Redmann and Dan Spiekermeier.

unnamed (7).jpg
Jennifer Meyer is the first female director of the North Dakota Soybean Council.

North Dakota soybean growers have elected a woman to serve on the North Dakota Soybean Council for the first time.

Wilton soybean farmer Jennifer Meyer is the first woman to be elected to NDSC and was elected to represent soybean farmers in District 12, which consists of 21 southwest North Dakota counties. While she was surprised to learn she was the first woman elected to the board, she says no one treats her any differently.

“I’m just another farmer, like the rest of them,” she says.

Along with being the first female farmer, Meyer says she also wants to bring the perspective of younger farmers to the board. While many people involved in ag groups have been in farming for decades, Meyer and her husband have been farming for about 10 years. They raise grain crops, with soybeans being one of their largest crops, along with operating a cow-calf operation.

Though she says she grew up a “city girl,” Meyer has gotten very involved in agriculture and rural issues since she and her husband started farming. She is president of the North Dakota Cooperative Directors Association, vice president of the Farmers Union Oil of Wilton, and active with North Dakota Farmers Union. She holds a degree in criminal justice.


She started following the North Dakota Soybean Council a couple years ago on Facebook, then participated in some council programs. When she learned there would be an opening on the council, she decided to put her name on the ballot.

“I believe the council is an important tool to help North Dakota farmers provide resources and information and bring a unified voice when it comes to the challenges we face in the industry and in the country. I look forward to working with farmers here and across the state to represent our industry,” Meyer says.

unnamed (8).jpg
Milo Braaten has been elected as director of the North Dakota Soybean Council.

Milo Braaten, a soybean farmer from Portland, was elected to represent District 8 which includes the counties of Nelson, Griggs and Steele. He farms soybeans, corn, edible beans and sunflowers with his two sons. Braaten has been involved with Steele County Farm Bureau, Portland Credit Union, Finley Farmers Elevator board, Bang Church board and Enger Township Board. He holds a degree from Moorhead Technical College.

Adam Redmann, a soybean producer from St. Thomas, and Dan Piekermeier, of Sheldon, were reelected to District 10 and District 2, respectively.

“We are excited to welcome Jennifer Meyer and Milo Braaten to the board. We look forward to working with them as they serve on behalf of their fellow North Dakota soybean producers,” says Stephanie Sinner, NDSC executive director. “We also congratulate Dan Spiekermeier and Adam Redmann on their re-election to the board and look forward to their continued leadership.”

Jenny Schlecht is the director of ag content for Agweek and serves as editor of Agweek, Sugarbeet Grower and BeanGrower. She lives on a farm and ranch near Medina, North Dakota, with her husband and two daughters. You can reach her at or 701-595-0425.
What To Read Next
Get Local


Agweek's Picks