SUBSCRIBE NOW 3 months just 99¢/month



National Farmers Union awards scholarships to young ag leaders

National Farmers Union has announced that students from North Dakota and Minnesota have won several of the group's national scholarships.

national farmers union logo.png
National Farmers Union logo (NFU)
We are part of The Trust Project.

WASHINGTON — National Farmers Union has announced that students from North Dakota and Minnesota have won several of the group's national scholarships.

Madelyn Jennings of North Dakota received the Hubert K. & JoAnn Seymour Scholarship, a $2,000 scholarship award given in honor of the dedication and commitment to Farmers Union and family farming by Hubert and his wife JoAnn.

Hubert K. Seymour was a leader in the Farmers Union organization throughout his life at both the state and national levels. He served the Illinois Farmers Union as secretary-treasurer for eight years and vice president for 12 years before he stepped down in 1990. He farmed full-time with his wife until his passing in 1994.

Two Minnesota students were among the recipients of the $1,500 Stanley Moore Scholarship. Amy Kyllo and Darrin Williamson, both of Minnesota, received that scholarship, along with Shelby Reeser of Kansas.

The Stanley Moore Scholarship is given in memory of Moore, a long-time Farmers Union member and leader who served as National Farmers Union Vice President and chairman of the NFU Insurance Companies board.


Every year, the organization presents several scholarships to students in any area of study attending a two- or four-year accredited college, university, or technical school who have demonstrated academic excellence and a commitment to their communities.

“Since National Farmers Union was founded nearly 120 years ago, education has been the foundation of our success and longevity,” said NFU President Rob Larew. “To secure a bright future for our organization and the American agriculture industry at large, we need to ensure that young people have the educational resources they need to become tomorrow’s leaders.”

NFU also presented two $1,500 Minorities in Agriculture, Natural Resources and Related Sciences Scholarships, which were open to MANRRS members and their children. The initiative is part of a formal commitment between NFU and MANRRS to provide educational and leadership opportunities for young people of all racial and ethnic identities, develop federal policy priorities, and extend each other’s reach within agricultural communities. Mary Vandenbosch of New York and Kenndall Bennett of Louisiana were the inaugural recipients of this new award.

Applications for the 2022 scholarship awards open in December 2021. More information about the scholarships is available on the NFU website at .

Jenny Schlecht is the editor of Agweek and Sugarbeet Grower Magazine. She lives on a farm and ranch near Medina, North Dakota, with her husband and two daughters. You can reach her at or 701-595-0425.
What to read next
A North Dakota potato breeder brings in a speaker from Wyoming who has trained a dog to detect potato virus diseases using their nose.
The North Dakota Soybean Processors plant at Casselton and the Green Bison plant at Spiritwood are signs of the growing demand for renewable fuel as well as feed for the livestock industry.
Titan Machinery was not present at the 2021 Big Iron Farm Show, but will be attending the 2022 Big Iron Farm Show this fall.
This week on AgweekTV, we'll take a closer look at the future of soybean crushing in North Dakota with two big plants on the horizon. We'll visit the southern Red River Valley, where corn planting is finally getting started. We'll begin our "Follow A Farmer" series once again, where we'll meet a 22-year-old ag engineering graduate who's beginning her career as a full-time farmer. And a well-known group that helps farmers in need is at the mercy of Mother Nature.