Changes to the Cottage Food Law went into effect at the beginning of this month, according to the Minnesota Department of Agriculture.
Changes implemented as of Aug. 1 include the following:
Increase the sales cap per registered individual to $78,000. (The previous cap was $18,000.)
Allow individuals to organize their cottage food business as a business entity recognized by state law.
Add pet treats as an allowed cottage food.
Require all producers to pass an exam prior to registration.
Require all cottage foods and cottage pet treats to be labeled with the statement, “These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection.”
Cottage food producers must still do the following:
Register with the Minnesota Department of Agriculture each year before selling food under the cottage food exemption, regardless of the amount of food sold.
Tier 1: For gross annual sales of $5,000 or less, complete an online training and exam each year before registering or renewing.
Tier 2: For gross annual sales of $5,001 - $78,000, take an approved food safety course once every three years while actively selling cottage food.
Prepare and sell only non-potentially hazardous food (such as baked goods, certain jams and jellies) and/or home canned pickles, vegetables, or fruits with a pH of 4.6 or lower and a water activity of 0.85 or less.
Label product with your name, address OR cottage food registration number, the date on which the food was produced, the ingredients (including potential allergens for human foods) and the statement, "These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection.”
Display a clearly legible sign or placard at the point of sale that says, “These products are homemade and not subject to state inspection.” If you are selling on the internet, post this statement on your webpage.
Deliver food directly to the ultimate consumer. The person who makes the food must be the same person who sells and delivers the food.
Sell from a private home, farmers’ market, community event, or on the internet. Food cannot be shipped or wholesaled.
Check with your local city, county, or township regarding business licensing or sales prohibitions due to zoning requirements.
Sell less than $78,000 in a calendar year. If you sell between $5,001 and $78,000 dollars per year, a $50 fee applies to your registration.
More information on the state's Cottage Food Producer program can be found at https://www.mda.state.mn.us/food-feed/cottage-food-producer-registration.