Advertise in Print | Subscriptions
Published March 21, 2012, 12:00 AM

Minnesota Beef Council board of director elections scheduled

Elections for five Minnesota Beef Promotion and Research Council directors will be held during late March.

Elections for five Minnesota Beef Promotion and Research Council directors will be held during late March.

The Minnesota Department of Agriculture, which coordinates commodity council elections, will mail ballots to all eligible producers by mid-March. The results are expected to be available on or before April 21.

The Beef Council's funding comes from the Beef Check-off program in which $1 is collected each time a beef or dairy animal is sold. Council activities focus on promotion, research and educational programs to increase the demand for beef. Board members approve and direct the business activities of the council.

The Minnesota Beef Council is an elected board of 16 beef producers plus one ex-officio member from various parts of the state. Members serve a three-year term and attend four meetings per year. Individuals who would like to be placed on the ballot must own beef or dairy cattle and live in the district they wish to represent.

Districts holding elections and the counties they include are:

• District 1: Becker, Clay, Clearwater, Kittson, Mahnomen, Marshall, Norman, Pennington, Polk, Red Lake and Roseau.

• District 2 and 3: Beltrami, Cass, Hubbard, Itasca, Koochiching, Lake of the Woods, Cook, Lake and St. Louis. Local nomination contact: Paul Kent Jr., (320) 679-9613.

• District 4: Big Stone, Chippewa, Douglas, Grant, Lac qui Parle, Otter Tail, Pope, Stevens, Swift, Traverse, Wilkin and Yellow Medicine.

• District 5: Benton, Carver, Kandiyohi, McLeod, Meeker, Morrison, Renville, Scott, Sherburne, Sibley, Stearns, Todd, Wadena and Wright.

• District 7: Cottonwood, Jackson, Lincoln, Lyon, Murray, Nobles, Pipestone, Redwood and Rock.

• District 8: Blue Earth, Brown, Faribault, Freeborn, LeSueur, Martin, Nicollet, Rice, Steele, Waseca and Watonwan.

Mail ballots will automatically be sent to all beef and dairy producers who returned a ballot request card in January. Producers that did not request a ballot may call the Minnesota Beef Council at (952) 854-6980 to receive a ballot for next year's election.